About us

Ambassadors

The ambassadors of the Royal Netherlands Institute in Rome (KNIR) are young researchers who represent the KNIR in the Netherlands. All ambassadors have stayed at the KNIR either by participating in a course or by receiving a KNIR scholarship. Thus they are familiar with the ins and outs of the KNIR. They are responsible for the PR of the KNIR on the Dutch universities while try to catch the eye of a broader audience.

This is the overview of the ambassadors 2019-2020. For previous years please go to our Dutch page.

Iris Blok MA

Iris Blok MA

Graduate MA Student Art History and Religious Studies
University of Groningen
irisblok@gmail.com

Arent Boon BA

Arent Boon BA

RMA Student Art History
Utrecht University
arent_boon@live.com

Esmee Boschma MA

Esmee Boschma MA

MA Student Archaeology
Leiden University
e.boschma@umail.leidenuniv.nl

Sander Egberink BA

Sander Egberink BA

MA Student History
University of Amsterdam
sander.egberink@student.uva.nl

Matisse Huiskens MA

Matisse Huiskens MA

Graduate RMA Student Art Studies
University of Amsterdam
matissekunst@hotmail.com

Thom van Leuveren BA

Thom van Leuveren BA

RMA Student Classics
Leiden University
thomvanleuveren@gmail.com

Miente Pietersma MA

Miente Pietersma MA

Graduate RMA Classical, Medieval and Early Modern Studies
University of Groningen
miente.pietersma@gmail.com

Alessandra Schimmel MA

Alessandra Schimmel MA

PhD Student History
University of Utrecht
a.m.schimmel@uu.nl

Joost Snaterse MA MSc

Joost Snaterse MA MSc

PhD Candidate Medieval History
Radboud University
j.snaterse@let.ru.nl

Thomas van de Vijver MA

Thomas van de Vijver MA

Graduate MA European Studies
University of Amsterdam
tvandevijver@live.nl