About us

Ambassadors

The ambassadors of the Royal Netherlands Institute in Rome (KNIR) are young researchers who represent the KNIR in the Netherlands. All ambassadors have stayed at the KNIR either by participating in a course or by receiving a KNIR scholarship. Thus they are familiar with the ins and outs of the KNIR. They are responsible for the PR of the KNIR on the Dutch universities while try to catch the eye of a broader audience.

This is the overview of the ambassadors 2017-2019. For previous years please go to our Dutch page.

Iris Blok BA

Iris Blok BA

MA Student Art History/Religious Studies
University of Groningen
i.blok.1@student.rug.nl

Matthijs Catsman BA

Matthijs Catsman BA

MA Student Archaeology
VU University
m.a.catsman@student.vu.nl

Maarten van Deventer MA

Maarten van Deventer MA

PhD Student Art History
Radboud University Nijmegen
m.vandeventer@let.ru.nl

Sophie van Doornmalen MA – Voorzitter

Sophie van Doornmalen MA – Voorzitter

Graduate Ancient Studies
Utrecht University
sophievandoornmalen@gmail.com

Niels Graaf MA

Niels Graaf MA

PhD Student Law
Utrecht University
n.graaf@uu.nl

Koen de Groot BA

Koen de Groot BA

RMA Student History
University of Amsterdam 
koendegrootvvz@hotmail.com

Francesca Hooft MA

Francesca Hooft MA

PhD Student History
Utrecht University
f.b.hooft@uu.nl

Gideon de Jong

Gideon de Jong

BA Student Classics
Leiden University
dejong.gideon@gmail.com

Aimée Plukker BA

Aimée Plukker BA

MA Student History
University of Amsterdam
aimeeplukker@gmail.com

Lotte van ter Toolen MA

Lotte van ter Toolen MA

Researcher Art History
University of Groningen
lottevantertoolen@gmail.com

Suzan van de Velde MA

Suzan van de Velde MA

Researcher Archaeology
Leiden University
s.m.van.de.velde@arch.leidenuniv.nl

Ivo Wolsing MA

Ivo Wolsing MA

PhD Student Classics
Radboud University Nijmegen 
i.wolsing@let.ru.nl